I got the job.

I just found out that I got the job I interviewed for earlier.  Having been a contract IT guy for the last 15 years or so, it’s a neccesary evil to look for work every so often.  Thankfully, I seem to have a set of marketable skills that I can sell to prospective employers.

I think the reason I’ve cleaved to contracting (if you’ll pardon the alliteration) is not because I fear commitment, but because I am ADD.

Most contracting jobs I’ve had have allowed me to do a lot of different tasks, and interact with a lot of different people, which fits my personality better than doing the same thing everyday.

I have not done as well at full time gigs, merely because I didn’t really enjoy the sustained, constricted effort it required to deal with the bureaucracy and administrative nonsense that goes along with being a permanent staff member.

You may be wondering, why does he say he is ADD, instead of saying he has ADD?  Because I’ve learned over a long period that it isn’t so much a disorder as a way of being wired.  If I had my way, it would be renamed to reflect that many of us with ADD appreciate some of the things it does for us, though we have to learn to manage some of the effects. 

I tell people that ADD is like having a little guy in your head with a remote control who is constantly channel surfing.  Only he surfs not only the exterior environment, but the internal environment as well.  This is probably why anxiety is a co-morbid condition for a lot of ADDers, you never know when your psyche is going to dredge up something unpleasant from the internal side.

Every once in a while, the channel surfer finds something he really likes, and then he locks on, to the point of getting upset if pulled away.  This is called hyperfocus, and it can be both a blessing and a curse.

The blessing is that once you get there you can be incredibly productive, and get lots accomplished. The curse is that people approach you at their peril. I’ve gone so far as to put up warning signs. “I’ve only bitten three people today, don’t press your luck.” “Trespassers will be violated.” (my personal favorite, though it got me hauled into HR once.) I also like “I’m Grumpy, dammit!” but it’s been too long and none of my coworkers get the SNL reference because they need to get off my lawn.

https://screen.yahoo.com/eddie-murphy-snl-skits/gumby-story-000000758.html

Mostly what I find that works for me is music, preferrably Mozart, as it seems to put the little channel surfing prick to sleep so I can get something done.

Leave a Reply

