The longing of the open road

I commute 75 miles to work each day.  Right now, I am plagued by road construction for the first 15 minutes or so of my trip.  I’ve watched the men and machines tear up the old road and replace the pitted rough road with a new smooth ribbon of concrete.  They are down to the last few steps, and most of the road, except for an overpass and doing the shoulders, is ready to drive on, as far as I can tell.

Driving to work each day is now an exercise in longing.  I am trapped in a two lane trap, waiting for the day when I can once again experience the freedom of two lanes.

If I had to describe the experience perfectly, it would have to be this:

 

 

Leave a Reply

