Snow! Snow! Really?

I have lived in the Midwest my entire life, so weird weather is pretty much a state of being.  Today I had to drive 80 miles to get to a job interview, which was an exercise much like war, in that it was long periods of mindless boredom punctuated by brief moments of sheer terror.  I quit conducting the CID (Cars in Ditch) count after the first 15 or so.

Driving by a car on the side of the road or in a ditch is most of all an exercise in “There but for the grace of God, go I”  I’m a pretty careful driver, but that’s because I have a overwhelming fear of fiery death because I was going too fast or not paying attention to what I was doing.  The only accidents I ‘ve had in the last 10 years have been car/animal encounters, one with a deer and one with an Ihavenoidea.

Hitting a large or small animal with your vehicle is a fairly traumatic experience when you think about it.  The deer took out an entire fender, my front bumper and the hood of my car.  I knew it was a deer not because of the brief flash I saw in the headlights but by the chunks of hair and flesh that were jammed into the cracks in the body work.  The USA (Unidentified Scuttling Animal) that crossed my path one dark winter’s night took out my radiator, my air conditioning unit and all sort of other damage.  Needless to say, neither the deer or the critter had liability insurance.

I should be used to it by now, but I still find it difficult to accept that there are animals too stupid to get out of the way of my car or to at least stay out of the way.  There was the squirrel who insisted on trying to beat me across the road and who got flattened for his trouble.  There was the large rooster pheasant who ran out in front of my car and met his demise in a cloud of feathers out the back end as I ran over him.  I don’t like running over innocent animals, I really don’t, but perhaps I’m doing my part for evolution in thinning the herd of the idiots.

The interview completed, I drove back home, this time the roads were wet instead of slushy, and other than the same cars that I saw coming in, only on the other side of the road, it was a much more pleasant drive.  I did get the word that I got the gig earlier today, so I will be making that drive on a daily basis through the end of the year or so.  I’m looking forward to it.  A long drive each day is a great way to let your brain relax and to grant yourself the opportunity to have a BFI (Blinding Flash of Insight).  I’m looking forward to it.

Leave a Reply

